ALL INDIA FORUM AGAINST PRIVATISATION (AIFAP)

AN ATTACK ON ONE IS AN ATTACK ON ALL!

Website: <u>https://aifap.org.in</u> Email: <u>contact@aifap.org.in</u> WhatsApp Number: +918454018757

28/09/2021

To,

Com. Ch. Narsinga Rao, Chairman, Visakha Ukku Parirakshana Porata Committee Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh

We, the constituents of the All India Forum Again Privatisation (AIFAP) condemn the central government's decision of the strategic sale of Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Limited (RINL) and fully support the united struggle of workers of Visakhapatnam Steel Plant and of people of Andhra Pradesh against the decision.

We also condemn the deliberate neglect of RINL's legitimate demand to allot a captive iron ore mine. RINL is the only integrated public sector steel plant without a captive source of iron ore. The demand has been pending since the inception of the steel plant.

The central government has been trying to privatise RINL since the 1990s and turning it into loss-making plant to justify its privatisation.

Visakhapatnam Steel plant is strategically located, being the only coast based public sector steel plant. Gangavaram port was built on RINL land to serve the steel plant. But now the port has been privatised and handed over to Adani. As a result of this, RINL has lost its strategic advantage.

The privatisation of RINL is not only against the interests of workers and of people of Andhra Pradesh but is also against the national interest.

We salute the unity which has been built by bringing all the unions including those of executives and contract workers together to form the Visakha Ukku Parirakshana Porata Committee (VUPCC) for spearheading the opposition to the sale of the steel plant. VUCPCC has been continuously organising programmes of protest since the decision to sell was taken on 27 Jan 2021 and has mobilised tens of thousands of people of Visakhapatnam and neighbouring areas as well as entire people of Andhra Pradesh in these protests.

Your unity and mobilisation of people against privatisation inspires all of us fighting against privatisation.

In solidarity with you,

All India Forum Against Privatisation

Constituents (in alphabetical order):

- 1) Air India Service Engineers Association (AISEA),
- 2) All India Coal Workers Federation (AICWF),
- 3) All India Defence Employees Federations (AIDEF),
- 4) All India Federation of Electricity Employees (AIFEE),
- 5) All India Federation of Power Diploma Engineers (AIFOPDEE),
- 6) All India Guards Council (AIGC),
- 7) All India Loco Running Staff Association (AILRSA),
- 8) All India Pointsmen Association (AIPMA),
- 9) All India Port and Dock Workers Federation (AIPDWF),
- 10) All India Power Engineers Federation (AIPEF),

- 11) All India Railway Employees Confederation (AIREC) Western Zone,
- 12) All India Railwaymen's Federation (AIRF),
- 13) All India Railway Track Maintainers Union (AIRTU),
- 14) All India Station Masters Association (AISMA).
- 15) All India Train Controllers Association (AITCA),
- 16) Bharat Petroleum Technical and Non-Technical Employees Association (BPTNTEA)- Mumbai Refinery,
- 17) Chittaranjan Loco Works (CLW) Railwaymen's Union, Chittaranjan, W.B.
- 18) Chittaranjan Railwaymen's Congress (CRMC), Chittaranjan, West Bengal,
- 19) Cochin Refinery Employees Association (CREA-INTUC),
- 20) Container Corporation (CONCOR) Employees Union,
- 21) DMW Railway Workers Union (DMWRWU), Patiala, Punjab,
- 22) Dakshin Railway Employee Union (DREU),
- 23) Diesel Loco Modernisation Works (DMW) Railwaymen's Union, Patiala, Punjab,
- 24) Diesel Loco Works (DLW) Men's Union, Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh,
- 25) Electricity Employees Federation of India (EEFI),
- 26) Hindustan Petroleum Employees Union, Vishakaptanam Refinery,
- 27) Hind Khadan Mazdoor Federation (HKMF),
- 28) Integrated Coach Factory (ICF) Labour Union, Chennai, Tamil Nadu,
- 29) Indian National Electricity Workers Federation (INEWF),
- 30) Indian Railway Loco Runningmen's Organisation (IRLRO),
- 31) Indian Railway Ticket Checking Staff Organisation (IRTCSO),
- 32) Integral Coach Factory Mazdoor Sangh (ICFMS), Chennai, Tamil Nadu,
- 33) Joint Action Front of Public Sector Trade Unions of Bangalore,
- 34) Kamgar Ekta Committee (KEC),
- 35) Lok Raj Sangathan (LRS),
- 36) Maharashtra State Bank Employees Federation (MSBEF),
- 37) Maharashtra State Electricity Workers Federation (AITUC),
- 38) Men's Congress Diesel Loco Works (MCDLW), Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh,
- 39) National Federation of Indian Railwaymen (NFIR),
- 40) National Federation of Telecom Employees (NFTE)-BSNL,
- 41) National Movement for Old Pension Scheme (NMOPS),
- 42) Neelachal Executives Association, Neelachal Ispat Nigam Limited (NINL),
- 43) Purogami Mahila Sanghatan (PMS),
- 44) Rail Coach Factory Men's Congress (RCFMC), Raebareli, Uttar Pradesh,
- 45) Rail Coach Factory Mazdoor Union (RCFMU), Kapurthala, Punjab,
- 46) Rail Coach Factory (RCF) Men's Union, Kapurthala, Punjab,
- 47) Rail Coach Factory (RCF) Men's Union, Rae Bareilly, Uttar Pradesh,
- 48) Rail Wheel Factory Karmika Sangh (RWFKS), Bangalore, Karnataka,
- 49) Rail Wheel Factory (RWF) Mazdoor Union, Bangalore, Karnataka,
- 50) Research Design and Standards Organisation (RDSO) Karamchari Sangh, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh.
- 51) Sanchar Nigam Executives Association (SNEA)-BSNL,
- 52) Shipping Corporation of India (SCI) Officers Association,
- 53) Surat Trade Union Council (STUC).