ALL INDIA FORUM AGAINST PRIVATISATION (AIFAP)

AN ATTACK ON ONE IS AN ATTACK ON ALL!

Website: https://aifap.org.in
WhatsApp Number: +918454018757

To

United Forum of Bank Unions,

The All India Forum Against Privatisation extends wholehearted support to your just struggle against the proposed bill, which will enable privatisation of two public sector banks to begin with and most of the public sector banks later on. We wish complete success to your proposed all India strike on 16 and 17 December 2021 and various protest actions before that.

The privatisation of public sector banks is an anti-worker, anti-people and anti-social step.

Time and again, we workers have found that the privatisation of a PSU has led to hundreds of workers getting thrown out of their jobs. Privatisation has also led to higher and higher use of contract workers who are employed at one-third to one-fourth the wages of regular workers. After privatisation, both permanent and contract workers are made to work longer hours without overtime. Existing unions are busted by new capitalist owners and new workers are not allowed to organize themselves. The anti-worker step of privatisation thus weakens the entire working class.

Security of our savings, deposited in banks, is most important for people of the country. Recent problems with private banks like IndusInd Bank, PMC Bank, etc. have created serious concerns about solely profit driven private banks. Proposed privatisation of two large public sector banks is totally against the interests of people.

Privatisation is anti-social, too. Banks will no more be run for fulfilling social needs but purely in pursuit of private profit. After private banks entered the field, banking services have become much more expensive. Many people will soon find services unaffordable.

The public sector banks have been built with the toil of lakhs of workers over decades using public funds. They are property of the people and must be used to fulfil needs of workers, farmers and all other toilers and for their welfare. However, huge amounts of funds to the tune of tens of lakhs of crores of rupees of peoples money has been swindled by big monopoly corporates and the Central Government simply writes these off as Non-Performing Assets (NPAs) while at the same time taxing the working people to recapitalise the banks losses. It is to these same unscrupulous corporates that the Government wants to hand over the public sector banks.

Along with privatisation of public sector banks, the Central Government has declared an all-out war on all public sector enterprises and wants to hand over the precious assets built with Indian people's money and sweat to private monopolies, both Indian and Foreign. It is only the united struggles of all of us that can stop the Government.

At the same time, we all must mobilise the consumers of the services we provide, to join us in our fight against the privatisation policies. We appreciate your efforts to create awareness among users of banking services about the ill effects of privatization of banks. AIFAP constituents too will carry out awareness campaign among their members, families and people at large as they all are customers of banks.

We fully support your slogan "People's Money for People's Welfare" and we are in complete solidarity with your struggles. An attack on one is an attack on all!

AIFAP urges all its constituent members to actively support and participate in various protest actions of bank workers.

Yours in solidarity,

AIFAP Constituents (in alphabetical order):

- 1) Air India Employees Union (AIEU),
- 2) Air India Service Engineers Association (AISEA),
- 3) All India Coal Workers Federation (AICWF),
- 4) All India Confederation of SC/ST Organisations (All India Parisangh),
- 5) All India Defence Employees Federations (AIDEF),
- 6) All India Federation of Electricity Employees (AIFEE),
- 7) All India Federation of Power Diploma Engineers (AIFOPDEE),
- 8) All India Guards Council (AIGC),
- 9) All India Loco Running Staff Association (AILRSA),
- 10) All India New Pension Scheme (NPS) Employees Federation,
- 11) All India Pointsmen Association (AIPMA),
- 12) All India Port and Dock Workers Federation (AIPDWF).
- 13) All India Power Engineers Federation (AIPEF),
- 14) All India Railway Employees Confederation (AIREC) Western Zone,
- 15) All India Railway Track Maintainers Union (AIRTU),
- 16) All India Railwaymen's Federation (AIRF),
- 17) All India Station Masters Association (AISMA),
- 18) All India Train Controllers Association (AITCA),
- 19) Bharat Petroleum Technical and Non-Technical Employees Association (BPTNTEA)- Mumbai Refinery,
- 20) Bharatiya Railway Mazdoor Union (BRMU), SW Railway, Hubli,
- 21) Chittaranjan Loco Works (CLW) Railwaymen's Union, Chittaranjan, W.B.,
- 22) Chittaranian Railwaymen's Congress (CRMC), Chittaranian, West Bengal,
- 23) Cochin Refinery Employees Association (CREA-INTUC),
- 24) Container Corporation (CONCOR) Employees Union,
- 25) Dakshin Railway Employee Union (DREU),
- 26) Diesel Loco Modernisation Works (DMW) Railwaymen's Union, Patiala, Punjab,
- 27) Diesel Loco Works (DLW) Men's Union, Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh,
- 28) DMW Railway Workers Union (DMWRWU), Patiala, Punjab,
- 29) Electricity Employees Federation of India (EEFI),
- 30) Hind Khadan Mazdoor Federation (HKMF),
- 31) Hindustan Petroleum Employees Union, Vishakaptanam Refinery,
- 32) Indian National Electricity Workers Federation (INEWF),
- 33) Indian Railway Loco Runningmen's Organisation (IRLRO).
- 34) Indian Railway Ticket Checking Staff Organisation (IRTCSO),

- 35) Integral Coach Factory Mazdoor Sangh (ICFMS), Chennai, Tamil Nadu,
- 36) Integrated Coach Factory (ICF) Labour Union, Chennai, Tamil Nadu,
- 37) Joint Action Front of Public Sector Trade Unions of Bangalore,
- 38) Kamgar Ekta Committee (KEC)/Mazdoor Ekta Committee (MEC)/Tozhilalar Ottrumai Iyakkam (TOI),
- 39) Lok Raj Sangathan (LRS),
- 40) Madhya Pradesh United Forum of Power Employees and Engineers,
- 41) Maharashtra State Bank Employees Federation (MSBEF),
- 42) Maharashtra State Electricity Workers Federation (AITUC),
- 43) Men's Congress Diesel Loco Works (MCDLW), Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh,
- 44) Mumbai and Suburban Secondary School Teachers Association,
- 45) National Federation of Indian Railwaymen (NFIR),
- 46) National Federation of Telecom Employees (NFTE)-BSNL,
- 47) National Movement for Old Pension Scheme (NMOPS),
- 48) National Railway Mazdoor Union (NRMU), (Central Railway/Konkan Railway),
- 49) Neelachal Executives Association, Neelachal Ispat Nigam Limited (NINL),
- 50) Purogami Mahila Sanghatan (PMS),
- 51) Rail Coach Factory (RCF) Men's Union, Kapurthala, Punjab,
- 52) Rail Coach Factory (RCF) Men's Union, Rae Bareilly, Uttar Pradesh,
- 53) Rail Coach Factory Mazdoor Union (RCFMU), Kapurthala, Punjab,
- 54) Rail Coach Factory Men's Congress (RCFMC), Raebareli, Uttar Pradesh,
- 55) Rail Wheel Factory (RWF) Mazdoor Union, Bangalore, Karnataka,
- 56) Rail Wheel Factory Karmika Sangh (RWFKS), Bangalore, Karnataka,
- 57) Research Design and Standards Organisation (RDSO) Karamchari Sangh, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh.
- 58) Sanchar Nigam Executives Association (SNEA)-BSNL,
- 59) Shipping Corporation of India (SCI) Officers Association,
- 60) Surat Trade Union Council (STUC),
- 61) Teachers Democratic Front Mumbai (TDF),
- 62) Unorganized Workers and Employees Congress,
- 63) West Central Railway Employees Union (WCREU).