Electricity workers protested at the Vidyut Bhavan to oppose the condition of depositing EPF contribution from the employee for implementation of OPS, under the banner of Rajasthan Electricity Employees Joint Unity Forum.


Report received from com. Krushna Bhoyar, General Secretary, Maharashtra State Electricity Workers Federation


Opposition to the condition of depositing EPF contribution from the employee for implementation of OPS in Electricity Corporations

Jaipur: In the implementation of Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot’s budget announcement, electricity employees got angry against the condition of depositing EPF contribution along with interest from the employees themselves to implement the old pension scheme for the employees working in power corporations.

At present, demands of lakhs of rupees are being issued to the employees for depositing EPF contribution and 12 percent interest on it from the employees who have opted for the old pension scheme. With these demands, the happiness of the OPS employees has turned into despair. Rajasthan Vidyut Karmachari Samyukta Ekta Manch has been continuously raising the demand for unconditional implementation of OPS to the electricity workers. Based on the suggestion of the Samyukt Ekta Manch, a proposal has been sent to the Finance Department after the approval of the Energy Minister regarding non-deposit of EPF contribution by the power corporations from the employees. In this sequence, today the electricity employees staged a strong protest at Vidyut Bhawan and raised slogans.

After the demonstration, the delegation of Samyukta Ekta Manch held talks with Bhaskar A. Sawant, Principal Secretary, Energy Department. It was decided in the talks that the Electricity Administration will make every effort to get the proposal sent by it approved by the Finance Department and until the Finance Department takes a decision on the said proposal, the demand letter will not be issued to the electricity employees. Employees appointed after 2014, whose EPF has not been deducted, their GPF accounts will be opened immediately on priority.

In the delegation Bajrang Lal Meena, Ramavatar Swami from Provincial Electricity Board Mazdoor Federation (INTUC), Madhusudan Joshi from Rajasthan Vidyut Shramik Mahasangh (BMS), Vijay Singh Baghela, Dipendra Singh Chauhan from Rajasthan Electricity Workers Federation (AITUC), Keshav Kumar Vyas Rajasthan Electricity Employees Union, Hargovind Sharma, Amit Malhotra from All Rajasthan Electricity Employees Federation, Dinesh Kumawat, Yusuf Qureshi from Rajasthan Vidyut Kamgar Ekta Federation (CITU), Kishore Singh, Vijay Joshi and Ramavtar Vyas from Vidyut Karmachari Federation etc. were present.



Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments