All state units of AIFOPDE should make the #Immediate work halt andolan# after the introduction of the central government’s bill, and the protest for strong opposition to the Electricity (Amendment) Bill 2022 on 10 August successful


Instruction of All India Federation of Power Diploma Engineers (AIFOPDE) to all its units


National Convention under the aegis of National Coordination Committee of Electricity Employees and Engineers, Constitution Club, 2 August 2022

In the important National Convention held under the aegis of the National Coordination Committee of Electricity Employees and Engineers in opposition to the Electricity (Amendment) Bill 2022, a resolution to oppose strongly was unanimously passed, the details of which are as follows:-

Many members of parliament came to the convention to oppose the unilateral amendment to the Electricity Act 2003 that allows privatisation of the entire electricity distribution sector. They opposed the Electricity (Amendment) Bill 2022 and offered full support to the protesting electricity workers. Mainly, MP Sanjay Singh of Aam Aadmi Party, MP E Karim and Binay Vishwam of Communist Party of India (Marxist), senior workers’ leader Tapan Sen, Hannan Mollah of Sanyukta Kisan Morcha, and national leaders of AITUC, CITU, INTUC, HMS and AIUTUC declared strong support to the struggle of the electricity workers.

Shri Sanjay Singh and E Karim said that Parliamentary Affairs Minister Shri Prahlad Joshi called parliamentary party leaders of all political parties at 11:00 AM today to inform them that the central government has decided that the Electricity (Amendment) Bill 2022 will be placed and passed in the monsoon session of parliament. Shri Sanjay Singh and E Karim and other leaders of the opposition strongly opposed this and demanded that the bill be referred to the parliamentary committee on electricity affairs for detailed discussion with all stakeholders, but Shri Prahlad Joshi did not give any clear assurance in this regard. It is clear from this that the Electricity (Amendment) Bill 2022 can be introduced in the parliament anytime next week.

The National Coordination Committee of Electricity Employees and Engineers has decided that if the central government tries to forcefully pass the Electricity (Amendment) Bill 2022, then on the day that this bill is placed in the parliament, all electricity workers, junior engineers and engineers across the country will immediately stop work and leave the work site and gather at one place to protest throughout the day. Apart from this, on 10 August, electricity workers will demonstrate their unity by holding massive protests at all districts and project headquarters across the country.

All state units of AIFOPDE are directed to prepare to vigorously protest against the Electricity (Amendment) Bill 2022 at all levels and to make the #Immediate work halt andolan# successful after the presentation of the central government’s bill as well as the above mentioned 10 August protest. The federation will also organize an online meeting in this regard soon.

On behalf of the federation, our National President Shri RK Trivedi ji, Former National President Shri SM Singh ji, Finance Secretary Shri Jaswant Rai ji, National Deputy Secretary General Shri Davinder Singh ji, Punjab President Shri Paramjit Singh ji and his Punjab team, Deputy Secretary General from Andhra Pradesh Shri BK Mishra ji, and members of the Uttar Pradesh team participated in the national convention.

Inquilab Zindabad!

Abhimanyu Dhankhar
National General Secretary



Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments