Thousands of loco pilots of Indian Railways held dharna in Delhi on 22 March to oppose privatisation and to press for the resolution their demands


Report by Com. K.C. James, Secretary General, All India Loco Running Staff Association (AILRSA)



On behalf of the Central committee, I convey my revolutionary greetings to all those who sweated to make the Delhi Dharna a historical event, while the administration took every suppressive measures including restriction of leave.

The Central committee greets the thousand and more running staff assembled at Jantar Mantar to protest the anti-running staff and anti-people policies.

The Dharna was inaugurated by Com. Dr. V. Sivadasan Honourable Member of Rajya Sabha. Com. A.M. Arif, Honourable Member of Parliament from Alleppey too addressed the Dharna. Both MPs assured to raise our grievances in the Parliament.

Com. Shiva Gopal Mishra, General Secretary AIRF, Sri N.C. Sharma Vice President of NFIR, Com. Subhash Lamba, President of State Govt. Employees co- ordination, Com. Amrik Singh of NMOPS, Com. Kishan Kumar of NREU/ IREF etc. addressed the Dharna. The programme was presided by the presidium consisting of Com. MN Prasad, Com. L. Mony, Com. Ramsharan, and Com. RR Bhagath. 15 Leaders from different Zones addressed.

A booklet prepared on the grievances of Loco Pilots – THE PLIGHT OF LOCOMEN – was officially released on the dais, by presenting a copy to our newly elected Treasurer Com. Mohan Chand Pandey, by our Working President Com. L. Mony.

Secretary General Com. K.C. James welcomed and Com. Padam Singh delivered the vote of thanks.

Central Committee appreciates and thanks our NR team for the necessary arrangements made for the Dharna and accommodation of delegates.

K.C. James
Secretary General, AILRSA



Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments